Homemade All-Natural Zero-Waste Deodorant

For a long time, I have had trouble with regular store-bought deodorant. I would buy a brand and stick with it for a year or two and then my body would reject it and get an allergic reaction from it. Then I would switch to another brand and repeat. In the last couple of months, I have grown irritated at my deodorant and decided to try something else. My friend told me how she would use lotion for her armpits and it wouldn’t smell and her armpits would become moisturized. I tried for a couple of weeks, but I would still smell my body odor. I couldn’t get too sweaty or the smell would become too strong, so I got rid of the lotion idea.

I came across an all-natural homemade deodorant recipe on Going Zero Waste‘s blog. This is her recipe and I am posting it here so you can access it or you can click this link. It’s made from three simple ingredients, water, baking soda, and Himalayan pink salt. After two weeks I don’t smell, my armpits aren’t irritated, and it cost less than the $3 sticks at the store. Kathryn K. is a lifesaver and she has some really awesome posts which I highly recommend you check out later.

 

FullSizeRender 13
Our spray bottles and excess deodorant in a mason jar.

 

What You’ll Need:

  • 8 oz of water (weight not fluid)
  • 4 Teaspoons of Baking Soda (Island Naturals $3.99/lb)
    • Absorbs moisture
    • Natural deodorizer that helps neutralize odor
    • Is alkaline and helps prevent excess sweating
    • Lowers your pH level to counteract the acids in sweat
  • 4 Teaspoons of Himalayan Pink Salt, fine
    • Provides essential minerals and trace elements
    • Helps eliminate toxins
    • Balances the body’s pH
    • Helps to increase blood circulation
  • Spray bottle (3 oz) or roll-on bottle
    • I got two small spray bottles from Target’s travel section for $0.99 each. One for Waiemi, one for me. Just remember to shake well before spraying.

Instructions:

  1. Heat 8 oz of water in a pot on the stove. Bring the water to a boil for five minutes.
  2. Remove from heat and let cool slightly.
  3. While water is still very warm, add baking soda and salt. It should mostly dissolve in the warm water.
  4. Pour into small spray bottle(s) or roll-on bottle
  5. Spray once or twice before you go to bed and again in the morning.

If you would like to add some scent you can use 2-3 drops of essential oil. Tea tree would be best because of its antibacterial properties.

I made a big batch, poured 3 oz into my spray bottles and kept the rest in a mason jar. It’s in my bathroom for the next time I need to refill or make some more. The deodorant will last a long time, up to 5 months.

Make sure you use fine grain Himalayan pink salt so it dissolves easier in the warm water. In order to save money, I used my regular Himalayan pink salt grinder that we use for cooking, sat down with a glass jar and just started grinding into the jar. It took a few minutes to come up with enough teaspoons of salt, but at least I worked my arm muscles. I plan to refill my grinder with salt from Island Naturals or Abundant Life. When I find out the price, I will update this post.

The great thing about this deodorant is how simple it is to make and use. I don’t have to worry about the toxic chemicals I’m introducing into my body through my armpits and I don’t have to worry about an allergic reaction!

Leave a Reply

